Geof Darrow

Geof Darrow is an American comic book artist, best known for his work on Hard Boiled, The Big Guy and Rusty the Boy Robot(which was adapted into an animated television series of the same name) and Shaolin Cowboy.

Darrow was a student at Hanna-Barbera cartoon studios after studying at the American Academy of Arts in Chicago. In the early 1980s he worked in character design for the Super Friends, Richie Rich, and Pac-Man television series. In 1990, Darrow and Frank Miller collaborated on the comic book Hard Boiled, a 3-part mini-series, for which they won the 1991 Eisner Award for Best Writer/Artist. Frank Miller also drew Darrow intoSin City: A Dame to Kill For, as Kevin the Cannibal. Darrow and Miller worked together again on Big Guy and Rusty the Boy Robot in 1996. The story was later developed into a 26-episode animated series of the same name, produced by Columbia TriStar Television and Dark Horse Entertainment, which aired from 1999 to 2001.

The Wachowskis saw his work on Hard Boiled, and approached Darrow to do some conceptual work for The Matrix. Darrow was credited as ‘Conceptual Designer’ on all three Matrix movies. His visual style is most prominent in the scene of Neo’s awakening from his biomechanical sleep. The Wachowskis also brought Darrow in to be the conceptual designer on Speed Racer. Darrow started writing and illustrating Shaolin Cowboyin 2005, featuring Darrow’s trademark ultra-violence, irony and meticulous level of detail. The Wachowskis and Circle of Confusion produced an animated feature of Shaolin Cowboy, written and directed by Darrow, and animated by Madhouse. Darrow is also the co-creator of the series Doc Frankenstein, written by the Wachowskis, with art by Steve Skroce, also published by Burlyman Entertainment.

Outside of comic books and film, Darrow has also done some artwork for the Magic: The Gathering trading card series. As well as various trading card line, such as Witchblade, Star Wars, The Shadow and Mike Allred’s Madman. Darrow serves on the national advisory board of PROTECT: The National Association to Protect Children.